A brilliant explanation, explaining one of my favourite smells. If you see me with my nose in the air and my eyes closed, I’m not trying to look like a snob, I’m merely enjoying that most beautiful aroma x

Scuffed Boots

The smell of the rain Why does the rain smell so good?

A few weeks back I went walking in the Sooke Hills on the southern tip of Vancouver Island. It hadn’t rained for a number of days, but midway through the hike I began to feel raindrops tinkering on my sunhat. The smell was magnificent – earthy, organic and raw – but I didn’t know what was causing it.

Keen to determine the answer, I raced back home, slipped on some cosy clothes, made a hot chocolate and got to researching. The exquisite scent, it seemed had a similarly handsome name: petrichor.

Petrichor’s recipe

  • Plant oils – secreted by plants, these oils are released buoyantly into the air during a downpour
  • Bacteria chemicals – created by those hard-working bacteria in the planet’s precious soil systems, these chemicals are freed into the atmosphere as the first few raindrops hit the ground

Other aromas that inspire me to strap…

View original post 33 more words

